Medical Marijuana States | Vermont Marijuana Laws | Medicinal Cannabis in Vermont
In July of 2004 medical marijuana patients in the Green Mountain State were finally allowed to possess, use and cultivate their own medical cannabis to treat diagnosed ailments. The state of Vermont has allowed the use of cannabis to treat the following medical conditions:
- Chronic Pain
- Lou Gehrig’s Disease
- Multiple Sclerosis
Medical cannabis patients and their caregivers are permitted to possess up to 2 ounces of marijuana buds. One of the downsides to the medical marijuana laws in Vermont is that an amendment to the bill in 2007 raised the amount a patient could cultivate from 3 plants (1 mature, 2 immature) to 9 total (2 mature, 7 immature). However this amendment did not raise the amount a patient or caregiver is permitted to possess. This amendment also makes it possible for doctors in states that neighbor Vermont to prescribe medical marijuana to Vermont residents. 4 medical marijuana dispensaries are also permitted in the state, each allowed to serve up to a maximum of 1,000 Vermont medical marijuana patients.
For additional information on the medical marijuana program in Vermont, individuals are encouraged to contact the following agency:
- Marijuana Registry
- Department of Public Safety
- 03 South Main Street
- Waterbury, VT 05671
Vermont has neither incredibly strict nor highly lax laws governing the recreational use of cannabis. For first-time offenders caught with less than 2 ounces, they will face a misdemeanor with up to 6 months jail time and a $500 fine. Second-time offenders caught with the same amount will face a second misdemeanor charge, up to 2 years in jail and a $2,000 fine. Offenders caught in possession of 2 ounces to 1 pound will face a felony offense, punishable by up to 3 years in prison and a $3,000 fine. 1 to 10 pounds is also a felony that will land a person in prison for up to 5 years and stuck with a hefty $100,000 fine. Getting caught in possession of an amount greater than 10 pounds will result in up to 15 years incarceration and a $500,000 fine.
Sale of any amount under a half-ounce is a misdemeanor charge with up to 2 years in jail and $2,000 in fines. Anything from a half-ounce to one pound results in a felony with up to 5 years in prison and $100,000 in fines. 1 pound to 50 pounds is also a felony, punishable by up to 15 years incarceration and $500,000 in fines to pay. Selling more than 50 pounds is a felony that can result in 30 years spent behind bars and a $1 MILLION fine! Getting caught selling any amount of cannabis to a minor is an automatic felony with up to 5 years prison time and a $25,000 fine.
Any individual(s) caught growing 3 to 10 plants face a felony with 3 years prison time and a $10,000 fine. Vermont law classifies cultivating 1 or 2 plants as possession. Growing 11 to 25 plants is also a felony that can result in 5 years behind bars and a $100,000 fine. Anyone caught growing more than 25 plants will face a felony with the possibility of 15 years behind bars and a $500,000 fine.